Frida in the Garden

My daughter and I recently revamped our gnome garden AND added a fairy garden to our yard. I know miniature gardens are popular on sites like Pinterest and Instagram… I’m always drawn to them. I’ve spent many hours perusing the uploaded inspirational pics. It brings out the little kid in me. However, I started thinking about slightly more grown-up versions ( you know, for the big kid in me). THAT kid LOVES all things Frida Kahlo!
I started brainstorming ideas for how to make my own miniature Frida garden… cacti and succulents are perfect for this- ooh, and airplants! YES! This garden idea of mine was coming to life! So first, I potted a selection of plants in a white washed terracotta pot. I then covered the soil with aquarium gravel and pea pebbles.
fg1

Next came the fun part! Using Sculpey clay, I crafted a Frida for my garden- here’s a photo of the unpainted in-progress Frida:
fg2

But, I still needed to make it more of a home for my Frida. I used Retro Cafe door cut-outs to give a hint of her beloved Casa Azul.
fg6
They were painted with Finnabair’s Art EXTRAvagance sets ( patina rust ).

For a festive feel( & Frida’s love of mexican folk culture), I wanted to add a banner of papel picado . Retro Cafe Art Gallery has them already perfectly sized and with holes drilled , ready to string! Just add paint, and tie them to bamboo skewers- Instant Fiesta! And how cute would these be on top of a Cinco de Mayo cake or to decorate a Dia de los Muertos wedding cake?
fg7

To finish my mini garden, I simply painted my Frida and welcomed her home!
fg3fg4
fg5

Viva La Frida!

materials: (links to Retro Cafe products in text above for your convenience)
Retro Cafe Art Double Door cut-outs( masonite)
Retro Cafe Art Papel Picado cut-outs (masonite)
Art Extravagance paste sets (patina and rust)
Sculpey clay, wire, Deco Art acrylic paint, a variety of cacti, succulents, and air plants, pot( of your choice), cactus potting soil, pea gravel and/or aquarium gravel, bamboo skewers, string

Thanks for looking!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I adore your Frida garden! So creative and cool!

    Like

  2. Brenda Austin says:

    Super!!! I love the way you think up unique ideas!!!

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Love Love Love this! I love your art!

    Like

  4. Holly M. says:

    Oh My she is wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

